About the Foundation


In the late 1970s, Dr. James T. McMillan introduced an extraordinary vision for Plymouth Church – to create an endowment fund to make available monies for unanticipated needs not provided for in the Church general budget.


Dr. McMillan served as the first Foundation board president and over time, his gifts totaled more that $1 million.


Thanks to Dr. McMillan and other generous donors, the Foundation’s assets and grants’ have grown significantly. You’ll find many of the contributors’ names on a plaque in the Tower Room of the Church. It acknowledges their role in fostering the caring and sharing that continues at Plymouth today.


Financial Resources as of September 31, 2018

Endowment — $7,468,487

Deferred gifts — $31,403

Competitive grant pool for 2018 — $75,000

Strategic grant pool maximum for 2018 — $517,443


Note: The Foundation’s Finance and Investment Committee, with the guidance of professional investment advisors, manages Foundation assets and ensures adherence to the Foundation’s investment policies.


President: Mary Ann Beard


Grants Chair: Greg Kenyon


Vice President-Investments: Dick Swanson


Secretary: Alissa McKinney


Additional Board Members:
Jane Flanagan
Sid Ramsey
Joe Sorenson
Hallie Still-Caris
Gail Stubbs


Treasurer (Ex Officio): Christi Sidwell


Investment Committee Member (Ex Officio):
Adam Claypool
Cecil Goettsch
Laura Meier
Jack Schreiber


Director of Operations and Finance: Jennifer Hines,
jhines@plymouthchurch.com/515.255.3149, ext. 19

Bequest Language

The official bequest language for the Plymouth Church Foundation is:

“I, (name), of (city, state, ZIP), give, devise and bequeath to Plymouth Congregational Church Foundation (written amount or percentage of the estate or description of property) for its unrestricted use and purpose.”




Programming for Children & Youth Registration & Handbook

Rev. Dr. Stephen G. Ray, President of Chicago Theological Seminary, observed from Plymouth’s pulpit last winter that he could tell our church was alive because we are rich with the most precious resource a church could have: children and youth. Engaging our young people with age-appropriate ways to learn, serve, and grow is the goal... Read More

Hitting a Little Close to Home: The Story of Cain

  Sometimes the Scriptures hit a little close to home. As we struggle with the aftermath of multiple mass shootings in this country—as we grieve and grapple with the horror—our summer sermon series invites us to consider the story of Cain. Genesis 4:1-17 Now the man knew his wife Eve, and she conceived and bore... Read More

Read More News

Events View All Events

  • There are no upcoming events at this time.